Skip to main content



The Merit Award Bursary Program provides bursaries to senior high school students as an incentive to stay in school, recognizing those who demonstrate a commitment to their schoolwork, extra-curricular activities and communities.  The bursaries are granted to students who attend one of the participating schools.  Before starting an application, please check to ensure your school is on the list below.

List of Participating Schools

Toronto District School Board
C. W. Jefferys Collegiate Institute
Cedarbrae Collegiate Institute
Central Technical School
Central Toronto Academy
Downsview Secondary School
East York Collegiate Institute
Emery Collegiate Institute
George Harvey College Institute
George S. Henry Academy
Jarvis Collegiate Institute
John Polanyi Collegiate Institute
Kipling Collegiate Institute
L’Amoreaux Collegiate Institute
Lakeshore Collegiate Institute
Leaside High School
Lester B. Person Collegiate Institute
Marc Garneau Collegiate Institute
Monarch Park Collegiate Institute
North Albion Collegiate Institute
Runnymede Collegiate Institute
Sir Sandford Fleming Academy
Stephen Leacock Collegiate Institute
Thistletown Collegiate Institute
West Hill Collegiate Institute
West Humber Collegiate Institute
Western Technical-Commercial School
Weston Collegiate Institute
Westview Centennial Secondary School
Wexford Collegiate Institute
Winston Churchill Collegiate Institute
York Humber High School
York Memorial Collegiate Institute

TDSB Alternative Schools
Alternative Scarborough Education 1
Avondale Alternative SS
City School
Delphi Secondary Alternative School
East York Alternative SS
Etobicoke Year Round Alternative Centre
Native Learning Centre
Native Learning Centre East
North East Year Round Alternative Centre
Oasis Alternative SS
Overflow Centre
Scarborough Centre for Alternative Studies
SEED Alternative School
School of Experiential Education
School of Life Experience
South East Year Round Alternative Centre
Subway Academy I
Subway Academy II
The Student School
Toronto Catholic District School Board
Archbishop Romero Catholic Secondary School
Bishop Marrocco/Thomas Merton Catholic Secondary School
Blessed Mother Teresa Catholic Secondary School
Father Henry Carr Catholic Secondary School
Father John Redmond Catholic Secondary School
James Cardinal McGuigan Catholic High School 2017
Jean Vanier Catholic Secondary School
Madonna Catholic Secondary School
Monsignor Fraser College
Neil McNeil Catholic SS
Senator O’Connor College School
St. Joseph’s Morrow Park Catholic Secondary School
St. Mary’s Catholic Secondary School
St. Patrick Catholic Secondary School

Criteria for a Merit Award
A successful applicant:
  1. Must be currently enrolled in high school as a full-time student for the school year 2017/18 OR as a full time-student during Fall or Winter of the school year 2017/18;
  2. Must intend to return to school as a full-time student, in the 2018/19 school year, in Grade 12 or postsecondary education at the university or college level, including registered apprenticeship programs;
  3. Must demonstrate dedication to schoolwork;
  4. Should demonstrate a high level of commitment to extracurricular school activities; and
  5. Should demonstrate a high level of commitment to volunteerism in the community at large.
Please note:
  1. Personal challenges and obstacles faced by the applicant, including financial circumstances, will be given significant consideration.
  2. Contributions to family welfare and/or work experience will be considered.
In order to receive the Merit Award Bursary funds:
  1. Student recipients must be enrolled as a full-time student at high school or in university or college for the school year 2018/19.
  2. The bursary will be paid in the Fall of 2018 after the student provides proof of his/her active enrollment.